Review of Black Dawn by Mallory McCartney (very mild spoilers!)

BD

 

Black Dawn by Mallory McCartney

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

BOOK DETAILS:
Black Dawn

by Mallory McCartneyPublished by: Clean Reads Publishing

Published by: Clean Reads Publishing
Publication date: February 14th 2017
Genres: Fantasy, New Adult, Young Adult

The end of an Empire, The rise of a Queen

Emory Fae enjoys leading a quiet, normal life. That is until two mysterious, and handsome soldiers show up at her apartment, and the life she knew is instantly whisked away. Memphis Carter and Brokk Foster come from the magical and war ridden world of Kiero, and upon Emory’s arrival she will discover she is the long lost heir to the Royal Line and is thrown into the Black Dawn Rebellion with a dynamic role to ignite the rebels and reclaim her throne.

With both men being darkly woven in her past Emory uncovers hidden secrets, a power held long dormant, and will soon realize there are worse things than supernatural humans, love, loss, betrayal, and a Mad King.

Some things are better left in the shadows.


I received this book in an ebook format to review from Xpresso Book Tours, so thanks for allowing me to read this book 🙂

Review:

I loved this book so much! It reminded me of The 100 and Divergent. I liked the characters. They were well written. I enjoyed getting to see points of views of different characters for each character similar to the different characters points of views from the 5th Wave series. Where you get to see things happening from different views of what’s occurring.
I thought it had a lot of twists and turns that occurred One moment everything seems okay and then boom something interesting happened. The ending had me shocked, and I honestly want to read the second book in this series right now. I need to know what is going to happen next right now.
I was instantly hooked on this story almost immediately. I thought the whole premise of the story was well thought out and I liked the whole futuristic outlook on the world. The main character, Emory made me go from feeling sorry for her and then at the end going what the heck? Why?..
I like that fact that there were really good friendships being told in the story, but also betrayals happening in this story it made fun and exciting. The powers the characters had were cool and the main bad guy Adair is a person who I would really like to hear more from in the next book. I will be awaiting book two!! please come soon.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

