The Awakened by Sara Elizabeth Santana (blog tour+Interview)

Synopsis of the book:

Zoey Valentine is concerned with two things: surviving the multitude of self-defense classes her dad makes her take and avoiding Ash Matthews.

That is, until the Z virus hits, wiping out a third of the population in a matter of weeks. If that weren’t frightening enough, the bodies of the victims disappear and suddenly reappear, awakened from their dead state. They’re faster, smarter, and they work together to get the one thing they crave, human flesh.

The United States is in a panic and then the government decides the unthinkable: to bomb every major city overrun with the awakened.

Now Zoey is on the run, with her dad and Ash, desperate to find a place of safety amongst the ruined remains of the country.

Goodreads page and where you can order The Awakened!

The Awakened- Goodreads page

You can order the book here ! 🙂

If you order the book  AFTER the release (December 1st), make sure to share that you get a free signed bookmark for ordering either the Kindle edition or the paperback. In order to claim your bookmark, you must message your proof of purchase/preorder and your name and address to sesantanawrites@gmail.com

Author Bio:

Official Author Photo

Sara Elizabeth Santana is a young adult and new adult fiction writer. She has worked as a smoothie artist, Disneyland cast member, restaurant supervisor, nanny, photographer, pizza delivery driver and barista but writing is what she loves most. Her first story was written at age nine. She runs her own nerd girl/book review blog, What A Nerd Girl Says. Her favorite books are a tie between Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling and Trickster’s Choice by Tamora Pierce. She lives in Southern California with her dad, five siblings and two dogs. Her debut novel is The Awakened.

Sara’s Website: http://sesantanawrites.com/

 An Interview with Sara Santana: 

  1. What types of book genre’s do you enjoy reading the most?

Anything YA and NA and I’m really not lying about that. Or over exaggerating. I do tend to drift to fantasy more than anything but I love that both YA and NA just sort of envelopes ALL genres. Its fabulous. I love that I can read a romance book by an author and then pick up a science fiction by the same author. Its fabulous!

  1. What inspired you into becoming an author? 

I don’t know really. I feel like it just felt like, well, yeah, that makes sense. I’ve always loved books. Ever since I was very small. People always ask what books made me love reading but I can’t really remember because I’ve always loved it. I remember writing stories when I was younger and people telling me that I was a good writer. I didn’t really realize that it was an actual JOB. I didn’t realize you could do it. I wrote all through high school and it was once I was out of high school, I really actually started to write novels and put time and work and effort into it. That’s when I realized I really wanted to do it.

  1. Describe what it is like getting a book published? 

Surreal? Definitely surreal. Its funny…this is exactly what I’m been working for all these years. The Awakened is actually my fourth novel out of five completed ones. Which goes to show how long I’ve been writing and how much I’ve been wanting to get published over the years. Everything has come down to THIS, and I’ve sacrificed a lot for it as well. And you always want it to happen, it’s what you’re working for but you get there and you’re like,  “Whoa, is this actually happening?” Its very exciting and definitely a dream come true for sure but it’s also definitely surreal haha. I’m not quite sure when it will feel real yet.

  1. Name 4 of your all time favorite books that you always come back to? 

This might be the hardest question I’ve ever been asked. I feel like it’s constantly changing. Can I do a top ten? I’m doing a top ten. That’s my compromise because four is just too little. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling and Trickster’s Choice by Tamora Pierce are easily my top two. City of Class by Cassandra Clare. Spirit Bound by Richelle Mead. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. Winger by Andrew Smith. Pride and Prejudice and Gone with the Wind. I’ve lost count. I should stop now.

  1. Do you have any future books in the works that we can look forward to? 

I certainly hope so! I’m currently working on the sequel to The Awakened which has no date planned yet but hopefully will be out in the next year? Or so? Not quite sure about that since I actually have to finish the thing! I also just wrote a new adult baseball romance over the summer called Benched that I would LOVE to get published and I’m working on that as well. I definitely don’t think I’m capable of not writing so as long as it makes me happy and people want to read it, I’ll be doing it.

6. What would your elevator pitch for the The Awakened sound like ?

Let’s see. The Awakened is like The Walking Dead but on The CW. LOL. Its zombies but better. They’re faster and scarier and much smarter and my main character is a ball of sass who is ready to take down everyone in her path.

  1. Did you listen to any music while writing The Awakened?

Definitely! I can’t STAND for it to be quiet. I’m the oldest of six kids so the word “quiet” doesn’t really exist in my world and I’ve gotten very used to it, actually. Silence super bothers me now. So I definitely listen to music!

I have to give a huge shout to the band Set It Off, whose album Cinematics was basically on repeat the entire time I wrote this novel.

  1. Do you have any advice for aspiring authors who want to get their book published ?

I will repeat myself again and again and again and again: Don’t give up. It’s not easy. It’s SO hard but if you want it badly, make it happen. Don’t give up. Write, write, write. Never stop. Keep going because rejection is a huge thing. And there are going to be a lot of people who don’t believe in you, and it hurts. But keep going. Never ever give up. Because eventually, when you work that hard, it’s going to happen for you.

Giveaway :

The giveaway is run through rafflecopter ,enter at the link below!

  1. Prizes will be shipped AFTER Christmas
  2. Available internationally
  3. The prizes include:
    • One Grand Prize Winner – Signed Copy of The Awakened, Signed Exclusive Poster, Signed Bookmark
    • One First Place Winner – Signed Poster and Signed Bookmark
    • Two Second Place Winners – A Kindle Edition of The Awakened and a Signed Bookmark

It ends on December 12th 🙂

Giveaway Graphic

Enter giveaway here!

Leave a Reply

