My review of “The Giver ” (book) by Lois Lowry

First off, do not read on if you have not read the book .

Spoilers ahead !

 

 

 

 

I really liked the concept of this book ,it was very thought-provoking and it made me think about ;what if today’s society grew up with out seeing colors  or didn’t know or get to experience love at all. I could not fathom not getting to enjoy the colors that I  love or to get to love  someone or even know what that feeling is, it would just be awful. I liked the main character Jonas because he was only a child and they gave him the hardest job in the community.Even just the thought of  a little twelve-year-old going to a ceremony and having a job picked for them for practically the rest of their working lives seemed crazy to me . I felt bad for the twelves because they don’t have any choice in the matter of where they will work. I felt bad for Jonas because his job was the worst one of them all (The Memory Receiver) it seemed difficult for him and it was to receive memories from The Giver and experience  all of the things that he didn’t know existed memories,feelings ,and colors and it  seemed tough for a twelve-year-old to take let alone an adult,I would have been like Rosemary and ending up giving up the position , yet I would never be able to have the courage she did with being released . While on the released topic that honestly shocked me while the dad had to see which twin was heavier and keep that one ,and release the other one into a supposed other community  when Jonas watched as his own father kill the other twin .My heart broke and it made me kind of sick to be honest.To think of today being like that would be a nightmare and I was glad this was fictional .Then when The Giver and Jonas came up with a plan I was thrilled because I was really wanting the community to get the memories,feelings ,and colors back .Then when Jonas dad made the decision to release Gabriel I was sad for him ,but later happy when I read that Jonas took the baby and made the escape earlier than expected .I am for sure going to read the other books in The Giver Quartet  because I want to find out what happens next. This book was a fast read and I enjoyed it immensely. I can’t wait to see the movie when it comes out on  August 15th .

I give this book 5 out of 5 stars 🙂

what did you think of the book  ?

* Picture above does not belong to me *

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “My review of “The Giver ” (book) by Lois Lowry

  1. impossiblegirl123 says:

    I agree on most points, but I wasn’t that happy about the ending of the book. I just didn’t understand what it meant, because it could stand for so many different things. I knew that there were other books, but I don’t think they have anything to do with Jonas. I gathered that each book has its own hero and the only similarity is the world they live in. Maybe I am wrong though.

    Like

    • fangirlinfinity21 says:

      Yeah I was kinda of like this is the end ,but I wantedore answers and I guess everyone is supposed to take away something different by the ending. I am also wondering about the other books I hope that it continues about Jonas and this story ,but even if it doesn’t i’ll read them .Thanks for your thoughts I appreciate it 🙂

      Like

      • impossiblegirl123 says:

        You’re welcome!
        Yeah, it’s definitely one of those stories that can be interpreted in a lot of different ways. I’m really looking forward on how they are going to translate it in the movie! They have a lot of great cast members, so I’ll definitely watch it 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

